King’s Palace (Instana Negara)

Surrounded by a beautiful park, green lawns and ponds the King’s Palace, Istana Negara, is the official residence of the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, a Malay title usually translated as “Supreme Head”. You can watch the Palace from outside the main gate where the Royal Guards,  dressed in white Malay as well as red British inspired uniforms, are guarding the main gate on horse and on foot.

The Kingdom of Malaysia consists of 9 sultanates (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Negeri Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor, Sembilan and Terengganu) and 4 non monarchic states (Malacca, Penang, Sabah and Sarawak). The “Yang Di-Pertuan Agong” or Paramount Ruler is elected among the sultans every five years, which means that there are 45 years until a sultan can be elected for the second time. The king in Malaysia is the head of the state. Together with the Prime Minister, the King  appoints the cabinet from among the members of Parliament, as well as the nominal head of the military and all three branches of government.