87 tin miners, mostly Chinese, came to the area where the  rivers Klang and Gombah converge.  The miners were searching for tin and found here a rich source of the metal. It is said that around 70% of the settlers died of malaria in the first months.

K.L was a growing village. The place was named Kuala Lumpur which in Malay means “muddy estuary”  The village grow rapidly and as all new mining settlements around the world it was a turbulent time. This first period was filled with conflicts and gang wars between local  Chinese gangs and sometimes Malay gangs about mining rights and control of drinking water. Among the Chinese tongs were in these days wars going on to control the brothels, gambling booths and opium trade in the settlement.

The legendary Chinese Yap Ah Loy , also known as Yap Tet Loy or Yap Mao Lan  became Chinese Kapitan of Kuala Lumpur and succeeded in just a few years to establish law and order in the town and became a sort of Mayor of  K.L. until his death in 1885.

Kuala Lumpur became a modern town when the British representative Frank Swettenham developed the first city plan and rich miners built colonial houses.  One of the reasons that the town                                 Yap Ah Loy
could expand was that the price of tin raised

Kuala Lumpur became the capital of the state of Selangor one year after the railway to the harbour city Klang was openend.

The Federated Malay States (FMS)is formed by uniting the Sultans of four states under one umbrella and KL was chosen as the capital of FMS.  because of its central position. The city became a classic centre of British colonialism.

Kuala Lumpur  was the capital in the “Federation of Malaya”

Malaysia became independence August 31 after 151 years of British rule, Kuala Lumpur was appointed the capital of the independent Federation of Malaya.

Kuala Lumpur became the capital of Malaysia in 1963.

Kuala Lumpur formerly detached from its mother state of Selangor and became an autonomy city (Wilayah Persekutuan or Federal Territory) with its own administration.

The federal administrative capital moved to Putrajaya on June 4.

Kuala Lumpur celebrates its 50th year as the capital of Malaysia and Malaysia its 50th year of independence.